100 words 017

After ten years (!) of studying, I’m still atrocious at Chinese. I was taking advantage of Piglet’s new found mimicry to teach her lǎolao (maternal Grandmother) and spent 5 happy minutes teaching her làolao (to brand or sear with a skillet).

The same day I managed to spend too long over-thinking the phrase Do we have class tonight?” and, by the time I got round to sending it over WeChat, I included three question words. This is not recognised as good grammar.

Still, with the chippy closed, I can ignore my monolinguality and rustle up fish and chips at least.

fish_and_chips.jpg

15 May 2020

100 Words


Previous post
100 words 016 Some more about our lockdown eating experience. Our principles have come in handy for staving off The Chef’s boredom when making most of our meals.
Next post
100 words 018 I cracked and joined the lockdown bandwagon. Not by cultivating and naming a sourdough starter. I went for a run. I’m not usually a jogger, but with