100 words 022

The book I haven’t read was playing as I lay on the floor, a baby’s climbing frame, trying to remember an untranslatable word1.

forgotten untranslatable: the poignant sadness you feel for the people your children no longer are.

Once down for her nap, I spent 15 fruitless minutes trying to find it.

Instead I found out that, in other languages, these lists usually include the English word stuff. Which is an excellent word. One that I’ve noticed non-native speakers often pluralise to stuffs, which is even better.


  1. There’s probably a word for this.↩︎

22 May 2020

100 Words


Previous post
100 words 021 Second missed update yesterday. I don’t remember why. Presume a combination of busy work, busy-work, weather and a good book (page 300 btw). Work
Next post
100 words 023 I’ve a long-standing inability to estimate a sensible quantity of meat for two people. Yesterday’s shop resulted in two 800g T-bone steaks. On