100 words 023

I’ve a long-standing inability to estimate a sensible quantity of meat for two people. Yesterday’s shop resulted in two 800g T-bone steaks. On getting home, every recipe I checked recommended one between two.

Did we share one and fridge one? Ha! We chose meat coma.

It also meant that when I asked our butcher for a little bit of bavette for a BBQ, she replied with,

You’re going to have to help me with what a little bit means. I don’t understand your portion sizes any more.”

Next week I’ll ask her to police my quantities.

23 May 2020

100 Words


Previous post
100 words 022 The book I haven’t read was playing as I lay on the floor, a baby’s climbing frame, trying to remember an untranslatable word1. forgotten
Next post
100 words 024 40mph winds have the birch sashaying like a raucous auntie after the second bottle. With double-lockdown, what better way to fritter today than