Weeknotes 004: Too nice a notebook to sully

On a crisp afternoon walk, The Chef was eulogising her love of autumn and offered, It’s that the sky feels further away.” Which makes no sense at all. Except that it kind of does. It must be something to do with the quality of the blue.

Back in the summer I got a notebook for my birthday that I’ve still not written in. It’s just too nice. I even searched Bullet Journals to see if I was worthy enough to keep one. I’m not. The search for a use continues.

Robert Heaton’s I got married and had kids so you don’t have to was a swirling, circling, rambling essay on being a new-ish Dad (specifically a Dad and not just parenting) in Covid times.

He’s started to become more fun since I last wrote about him. He’s always been fun of sorts, but it was usually fun like cooking, not actual fun like playing PlayStation.

My hot take on baby science is that humanity knows an enormous amount about what is good for children, but this knowledge is so baked in to our lives that we don’t notice it.

It’s a good read. It reminded me of Paul Mucur’s weeknotes. Both invited parenting on themselves a month or two after me, but are going through the same experiences. It’s reassuring, while the world is busy being everything, to hear secondhand accounts which rhyme with my own. And I get to laugh at things like protest bananas.

Having Piglet has already broken my Spotify recommendations. After a concerted effort, I’ve wrestled about a third of the weekly recommendations back to twee indie, with the rest being made of relaxing nursery piano music and ambient noises. I think this might be my high-water mark for non-kid recommendations until 2040. I did get round to collating a Piglet bedtime playlist with this lot on there.

This year, rather than start with a crumble, we followed Jane Pikett’s Lemon and blackberry clafoutis recipe for our first forage. Delicious and disgustingly simple to make. It’ll definitely get a replay this autumn.

While I write these, The Chef has just found someone selling a secondhand mooncup on Facebook. So that’s a thing. No takers yet.

27 September 2020

weeknotes


Previous post
Weeknotes 003: That does not smell nice This week has been a restorative tonic for the soul. The prosaic hiccoughs of a regular week interspersed throughout fun adventures. It started at 5
Next post
Weeknotes 005: Falling You know that gif from Avengers where Bruce Banner explains his secret is that he’s always angry? That. But for our dishwasher needing to go on. * *